Sunday, October 31, 2010

Puppet Hell

 (I should probably tell you about the charity organization I work with.  It's a theater group, we put on two shows a year.  I myself am not a performer, I work backstage.  On weekends, and sometimes after work on a weekday, I go to our organization workspace, to work on costumes, sets, etc.  This fall, our show is Little Shop of Horrors, and I've been working like crazy on the puppets.

Yesterday, I didn't do quite so badly, but mostly because I was running around like a chicken with my head cut off, trying to get our puppets into shape.  No formal exercise, but I was at the workspace for 10 hours, so I think that counts, as I was on my feet for most of it.


Breakfast-
Bacon Egg and Cheese (still hung over from my tons of beer and vat o cheese from the previous night)
Gatorade
Lots and Lots and Lots of water
Lunch-
Subway 6" tuna-  I rarely get tuna, as it's about the worst Subway option, but I was really craving it.
Doritos
Sunkist Orange Soda
Dinner-
Baked Penne (I only ate half the serving.  Probably still a  full serving worth's but I tried)
Sauteed Broccoli in olive oil and butter

The really great thing about yesterday is that you'll notice, NO SNACKS.  Snacking is my downfall.  But, when I'm really busy, I get too busy for snacking, and I do better.  I also tend to eat worse things because I'm stressed (baked penne, Subway Tuna).  Somehow I like to think it's not a wash, but it probably is.

Today I'll be back at the workspace, but tomorrow morning I'm starting back to my gym routine.

Saturday, October 30, 2010

Giant Vat of Cheese

Yesterday was a bit of a travesty. Did ok at work all day, but went to a party last night and ate and drank my bodyweight. Party was fun, but I couldn't tear myself away from the queso. or the Jello Shots. or the pigs in a blank.

Breakfast-
Pop Tarts
Lunch-
1/2cheeseburger
fries
snack-
small apple
Supper-
Hummus w/ carrots
Party
a kajillion beers.
5 jello shots
a whole plate of cheese
much more party food (I am not repeating because I don't want to, I'm a little grey as to what I ate the whole night.)

Friday, October 29, 2010

Birthday Aftermath

Ugh.  While I had a great birthday, I did realize that I also need to be tracking my drinks, as some of those contain calories.  I also realized that way too many of my friends show their love via baked goods and beer.  Not only did I eat way too many sweets, I have 3 cupcakes in my fridge, a dozen and a half snickerdoodles and half a carrot cake.  Carrot cake counts as a vegetable, right?

Breakfast-
Special K Red Berries and skim milk
Snack-
An entire pack of starburst.
Lunch-
A crazy sandwich with coleslaw, ham, cheese, and thousand island dressing.  Only ate 2/3 of it, because sadly it sounds better than it tasted
A slice of red velvet cake, shared with the coworkers that took me to lunch for my bday. 
Snack-
Small apple
BDAY CAKE!
Dinner-
Mozzarella Sticks
Chicken Fingers
Potato Skins- all shared with a friend.
LOTS OF BEER
Dessert-
A crumbs peanut butter cup cupcake- shared with the boyfriend.

Exercise-
Lifting a glass many times.  Does that count?

Thursday, October 28, 2010

Happy Birthday to me!

It's my birthday. I'm starting the day with a lovely bowl of birthday special K. hrm.

Yesterday was better. I'm not sure I'd say good, but better.
Breakfast-
Protein Shake
Snack-
1 small apple
Lunch-
Yogurt w/ granola and apple
Snack-
Baby Carrots
Stupid crap I shouldn't have put in my mouth-
1 Twizzler
1 tootsie pop
Supper-
Subway ham and swiss wrap
1 bag Cool Ranch Doritos
I got home late snack-
3 pcs cheddar cheese.

Exercise-
3 mile run on treadmill
20m on elliptical
running around workspace doing various lifting, painting, etc for 4 hours.

So all in all, it was a better day. The drawback is that I thought about the chocolate sitting across the way pretty much ALL DAY LONG. I'm thinking once I've made healthy snacking more of a habit, that will get better??

I realize today may not be so good, but it's my Birthday, I think I'll give it a pass.

Wednesday, October 27, 2010

One day until old.

Or older than I currently am. One day until I turn 36, and this morning, none of my jeans would button without making me feel like a sausage in a casing.

I swear I have good intentions. I wake up each morning thinking I'll start eating better today. Today's the day. And then there's a big bowl of candy at work. And cupcakes for someone's birthday. And a cheese platter left over from a meeting. And I have to get to a meeting after work, so I pick up something disgusting and fast food-y for dinner. And then my day is completely shot.

So I have a new strategy. I figure, if I have to write down everything I eat, and all the exercise I do, I'll be more aware of what I'm actually eating. And possibly be so ashamed posting what I've put in my mouth that I'll stop doing it! My goal is to blog every day of my 36th year, and keep track of what I'm eating.

Here goes:
Yesterday, 10/26
Breakfast-
A bowl of special K cereal with skim milk
2nd Breakfast- (there was a bridal shower breakfast at work)
assorted cheeses (brie, soft cheddear, blue cheese) spread on 6 crackers
2 mini cupcakes
1 scoop of fruit salad
Snack- (dear lord, why did I need a snack with that 2nd breakfast???)
1 small apple
Lunch-
light yogurt w/ granola (there, back on the right track
Afternoon snack- (who are you kidding, this should be called- more reason to stuff your face)
hummus w/ baby carrots and cucumber slices
All day nibbling-
assorted mini candybars from the halloween pumpkin- too many to count.
Supper-
Chipotle pork burrito

Exercise-
Volunteer work- was on my feet for about 3 hours. Not really exercise, but better than sitting on my ass for 3 hours watching the biggest loser and eating chocolate. (not that I've EVER done that before... or last week.)

Hmmm.... my thoughts on the above. I can't begin to imagine what the cleaning lady thought when she saw all the wrappers in my trash can. Maybe she looked around to find my cold, dead body, because that much candy probably should have sent me into a diabetic coma.

Additionally, after a terrible day, did I really have to go and eat an entire Chipotle burrito? It's about a day's worth of calories all on it's own.

So again, I'm starting today, which means that tomorrow's entry hopefully will bode better. I went to the gym this morning, so exercise is already better than yesterday. And I'm trying this new thing to deal with the candy around the office. It's called will power. Totally new concept for me.

With that, I'll leave you for the day. See you tomorrow, same fat time, same fat channel.